Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Words and Photos – Julia Howland

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra free concert series, Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne

MSO_julia_4-3-13-1

I don’t know a lot about classical music. Actually, I can confidently admit I don’t know anything about classical music. I couldn’t pick out Mozart’s Requiem or hum you any part of Beethoven’s symphonies.

One thing I do know a lot about however, is free stuff. I can sniff out a bargain anywhere. I pride myself on being a cheap date. And when Melbourne Symphony Orchestra announced their series of free concerts, I just couldn’t resist.

Free music at the Sidney Myer Bowl, with the sun setting over the city on a beautifully warm summer’s evening is wonderful thing. Especially when picnics are encouraged.

Although the February series is over, keep an eye out for more freebies before summer sends.

